Timeline of the Axholme Joint Railway

1896 The Light Railways Act
This enabled new railways to be set up with less formality, but with restrictions such as maximum speed limit of 25 mph.

1898 The Goole & Marshlands Light Railway order approved.

1899 The Isle of Axholme Light Railway order approved.

1899 Building of the G&MLR commenced.

1900 Building of the IoALR commenced.

1900 The G&MLR mainline opened, the northern section of the IoALR opened.

1902 The North Eastern Railway Act authorised the NER & the L&Y to purchase both light railways.

1903 The Fockerby branch completed.

1904 The full mainline from Marshlands Junction to Haxey Junction completed.

1909 The Hatfield Moor branch completed.

1933 Passenger services cease.

1948 Nationalisation.
The AJR loses its independence.

1956 The Epworth - Haxey Junction section closed.

1965 Closure of most of the remaining system.
The Marshland Junction to Crowle section remains open for CEGB traffic.

1972 Final closure.



Thank you to Richard Barron for the above information.