Timeline of the EWYUR

1883 East & West Yorkshire Union Railways Act passes.

1886 Drax line abandoned.

1889 Second abandonment Act.

20th May 1894 E&WYUR opens to freight traffic.

1895 South Leeds Junction Railway opens.

1896 South Leeds Junction Railway becomes part of the E&WYUR.

1899 Thorpe Branch opens.

1904 The passenger service starts and lasts only nine months.

1st July 1923 Grouping leads to the E&WYUR becoming a part of the LNER.

1948 Nationalisation and the formation of British Railways.

3rd October 1966 Closure of the remaining E&WYUR network.

25th July 1967 Permission to dispose of the land is granted by the Ministry of Transport.