"Unavailable" ?

This forum is for suggestions and discussion about this site. What would you like to see?

Moderators: 52D, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard, Tom F

Post Reply
User avatar
StevieG
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 2185
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Near the GN main line in N.Herts.

"Unavailable" ?

Post by StevieG » Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:15 am

Richard,
By no means a complaint, just an observation in case of interest.
For the first time(s) ever, yesterday evening and through today, when routinely changing pagers/topics/forums herein, I have experienced a return message of something like 'This board is temporarily unavailable. Please try again in a few minutes'.
Sure enough, after a few minutes (seconds sometimes), all is well.
BZOH

/
\ \ \ //\ \
/// \ \ \ \

Mickey

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by Mickey » Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:45 am

Yes i'll second that as well Richard the same 'intermittent problem' that Stevie has referred to i believe i first noticed it last Thursday 19th Jan.

User avatar
60800
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:41 pm
Location: N-Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by 60800 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:27 am

It's happened to me about 30 times since the 'compression' was put on.
36C - Based out of 50H and 36F

AndyG
LNER N2 0-6-2T
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:28 pm
Location: Northolt,Middlesex

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by AndyG » Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:36 pm

Been happening several times for me this morning as well.

Andy

User avatar
60800
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:41 pm
Location: N-Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by 60800 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:40 pm

For those who have not experienced it:
board disabled.png
36C - Based out of 50H and 36F

User avatar
Blink Bonny
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3946
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: The Midlands
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by Blink Bonny » Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:12 pm

Ay up!

I'm getting this as well. Can something be done? I'd hate this little group to go the way of the LMS forum..... :shock:

Mind you it was the scamming spammers who killed that one, come to think of it! :roll:
If I ain't here, I'm in Bilston, scoffing decent chips at last!!!!

User avatar
60800
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:41 pm
Location: N-Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by 60800 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:18 pm

I just hope it isn't a concentrated DOS (denial of service) attack
36C - Based out of 50H and 36F

User avatar
richard
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3329
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by richard » Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:48 pm

It isn't the compression, but a few other adjustments I did at the same time.
Basically if things get too busy it gives you that message. I'll back the settings off a bit, although it might take some trial and error to find the best settings. The settings should be on, but they shouldn't be too sensitive.

Note that in the past when it seemed to take a few seconds to respond, the server was probably getting overloaded - now you get a message instead.

Richard
Richard Marsden
LNER Encyclopedia

jwealleans
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3775
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:46 am

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by jwealleans » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:56 pm

Happens to me when I use the 'Board Index' link top left of the page. If I use my Firebox bookmark it's fine.

User avatar
strang steel
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 2274
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 3:54 pm
Location: From 40F to near 82A via 88C

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by strang steel » Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:42 pm

Maybe some of us more frequent posters should stump a couple of quid each in order for Richard to pay for the web hosting and bandwidth charges?

After all, the site is a mine of valuable information and most of us have a Paypal account. All we would need is an email address registered for Paypal and either Richard or this website, and we could transfer to that.
John. My spotting log website is now at https://spottinglogs.co.uk/spotting-rec ... s-70s-80s/

User avatar
Blink Bonny
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3946
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: The Midlands
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by Blink Bonny » Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:38 pm

Ay up!

I must admit I'd not thought of that, SS. Couple of quid a month?
If I ain't here, I'm in Bilston, scoffing decent chips at last!!!!

User avatar
richard
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3329
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by richard » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:01 pm

First, I did back off the limit that is causing the error. Actually I backed it off a lot. The fact it is still appearing indicates the server is very busy. It is a shared server - not only does lner.info have to share a PC with my other sites, but also other people's sites. Changes are a foot and my entire account will be migrated to a virtual system in the next few weeks (possibly this weekend) - I'll post an announcement when I have a time & date (the site may be down for a day or so, also it will break some links and bookmarks). This change will make the limit meaningless (in which case I switch it off) or it will change the baseline for the better.

Adding compression to the forums has made a huge difference to the bulk bandwidth statistics for my entire account. After the server move, I shall be switching compression on for my other sites. It is also likely that two of my commercial sites will not survive the move. So (and this is not a reason to go wild!) bandwidth should not be an issue for the next year or two. Disk capacity will also increase with the move. The growth in attachments during December was pretty big so I'm not going to increase individual image attachment sizes, but I might relax some of the other limits (eg. number of PMs in a mailbox, size of non-image attachments, attachments-per person).

re. donations: I did have a donation link back in the very early days - never got a single dollar! Those links were replaced with the Goodle AdSense adverts on the static site. It might be an interesting experiment to put the ads back on the forums now the traffic is so much higher, but I'm inclined not to. Income was low per page view (the page views are generally the same people who have seen the ads before) and the annoyance factor was high. As a general yardstick (and this varies month to month), AdSense income across all my sites currently pays for my combined Pair+Amazon web hosting costs, but would not pay for a dedicated server.
Richard Marsden
LNER Encyclopedia

User avatar
StevieG
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 2185
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Near the GN main line in N.Herts.

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by StevieG » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:39 pm

jwealleans wrote: " Happens to me when I use the 'Board Index' link top left of the page. .... "
(Still for info. only) Now I think about it, I reckon that's when I have been occasionally experiencing it as well.
BZOH

/
\ \ \ //\ \
/// \ \ \ \

User avatar
Blink Bonny
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3946
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: The Midlands
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by Blink Bonny » Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:17 pm

Ay up!

The LMS have an ad at the top. My only complaint is that recently its been for "Mature Dating" using some real horrors! I'd run a mile from any of 'em, and I'm not exactly in the first flush of youth meself!

I wouldn't mind ads if it helps pay for the site. I always ignore 'em anayway! Adman's nightmare, that's me.
If I ain't here, I'm in Bilston, scoffing decent chips at last!!!!

User avatar
richard
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3329
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Contact:

Re: "Unavailable" ?

Post by richard » Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:26 pm

Well that is it - the forum traffic is so high primarily because it is viewed by a group of people who are checking it regularly (unlike other pages where there's a lot of turnover). So more people ignore it - 99.8% say rather than 98.5% (those are rough ball park figures). It might not seem much but in terms of clicks/view, and $/view it is huge.

What might make a difference is if the advertising can be better targeted. Google have some tools to help with this but it is very broad (eg. I've switched dating off for the main site, but I can't switch everything off). One option would be for a rail-specific vendor to pay for a static advert (but they would have to pay at least as much as Google currently pay), or the vendor could open a Google advertising account and specifically target my site (ie. so a proportion of their adverts appear on my site). This should be a win-win as their adverts would appear in a relevant place, and I would get relevant adverts.
Richard Marsden
LNER Encyclopedia

Post Reply