What would have ran here?

This forum is for the discussion of the locomotives, motive power, and rolling stock of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

Dunluce Castle
GNR J52 0-6-0T

What would have ran here?

Post by Dunluce Castle »

Hello everyone!
This may come across as an absolute amateurish question and it probably is because I am a newbie haha, but me and my father have a long term project to recreate evenwood railway station in miniature, so far we have made the signal box, waiting room and the coal bunker on the platform, all the scenery and buildings Etc are being done by dad and I'm in charge of the rolling stock. So back to the question,

I want to know what sort of trains/consists would have ran between bishop Auckland and Barnard castle? Anything from goods trains and passenger trains would be much appreciated, dad can only remember BR era trains and unfortunately my grandparents are no longer here so we've tried searching online and books to no avail, pictures are also quite rare to come across as well. So if anyone knows what type of wagons, engines, carriages etc... Would have ran through evenwood station that would be great and also if anyone knows what local trains would have consisted of and if there was a possibilty of excursions running between the 2 stations, the period we are modelling is pre war LNER.

I Look forward to reading the replies.

Many thanks
Nelson

Btw here's a map of evenwood and the surrounding area in case anyone doesn't know what I'm on about, but I'm sure you all do.
Map
Map
Nelson
1̶6̶ 17 years old and modelling the LNER, LMS NCC and UTA (steam of course)
Hatfield Shed
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Re: What would have ran here?

Post by Hatfield Shed »