A1/1 Great Northern conversion. Paint question.

This forum is for the discussion of the locomotives, motive power, and rolling stock of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

CaptainMumbles
NER Y7 0-4-0T

A1/1 Great Northern conversion. Paint question.

Post by CaptainMumbles »

Gday all!

As much as I love my 'Grizzly' locos I have created something that resembles the A1/1 4070 right after the rebuild. It is part of the story! I am no expert but from the small amount of reference I can find, it looks to me like it was rebuilt more than once. And due to lack of pictures and references, probably didn't stay long in that state. The 2nd rebuild had a different running plate, and lots of other small differences, talk about a project!
The shell is an old super detail tender drive 'Manna' on a Railroad FS chassis with new running plate, modified smoke box and cab. Thompson O1 cylinder blocks. Motion comes from modded parts of the O1, L1, and A1/3. Tender body is from an A/3 'Sandwich'. I have lots of tender drive tender chassis lying around so I might convert one of those to fit the smaller tender body. I don't know if i will be able to replicate it 100% as my skill will be my limitation but it will still look OK on the layout. I recently built a 2-8-2 P1 from rearranging RTR parts so I have lots of leftover parts!

Question! In my old book 'The locomotives of SNG' the writer claims the Great Northern was painted blue.
What colour would the lining and boiler bands be? The one or two black and white photos I can find show a wartime darkish colour with wartime style 'NE' on tender so you could be forgiven for painting it black!
I would assume it was white/black/white. However, in the black and white photos the lining doesn't have a high contrast to the body colour. Could it be cream/black/cream? Or red/black/red?