Loco type ident please

This forum is for the discussion of the locomotives, motive power, and rolling stock of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

Ptarmigan
GER J70 0-6-0T Tram

Loco type ident please

Post by Ptarmigan »

Hello everyone.
nice forum, nice site.
My first post and I hope I am not horribly off-topic !
I found you whilst looking round the web for info (and nostalgia !) about my childhood holiday route, Carlisle to Silloth.
I see that there are lots of knowledgeable people here about Carlisle Canal shed etc. so perhaps someone can identify the type of loco in a picture I found on the "Carlisle & Silloth Bay Railway" website at
http://www.cumbria-railways.co.uk/sillo ... ation.html
in the top picture of the three on that page.

Thanks,
Malcolm.
Colombo
LNER Thompson B1 4-6-0 'Antelope'

Post by Colombo »

Malcolm,

I am not an expert on NBR locos, but my guess is that the loco in the photograph is an ex-North British Railway Holmes Class M which became LNER Class D31. The diameter of the boiler looks about right and the shape of the chimney, together with the round cab spectacle plates. Other details in the photograph of the D31 in this LNER Encyclopedia also correspond.

The last of this class of 48 locos was withdrawn in 1952, which fits in with the date of the photograph. There were just 7 left in 1948. They were normally used on secondary passenger services.

I can't quite make out the number on the buffer beam but in 1948 there were still two of these shedded at Carlisle (Canal), LNER 9635 and 9642, which became 2059 and 2060 under the 1946 renumbering and gained 60000 on Nationalisation. They were renumbered 62281 and 62282 to make way for new K1s in 1949.

Colombo
Bullhead

Post by Bullhead »