From a J21 to a J15

This forum is for the discussion of railway modelling of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

Frazmataz
NBR D34 4-4-0 'Glen'

From a J21 to a J15

Post by Frazmataz »

Due to the apparent lack of J15 in any form of model today (Alan Gibson is closing down his business, his locomotive kits sold out, and Nu-Cast kits being hard to find, and expensive), and having noticed the similarities between the preserved J15 and J21, does anyone have any ideas for converting the London Road Models J21 into a J15? I've had some conversion experience with model soldiers, so I'm willing to have a go with this provided it's simple to intermediate level. The fact that Gibson is still selling the J15 Chimney and smokebox front in 4mm scale is sure to be a big help. :)
Last edited by Frazmataz on Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jwealleans
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Post by jwealleans »

You can still get the NuCast J15 from Sherwood Models or the West Coast Kit Centre.
Frazmataz
NBR D34 4-4-0 'Glen'

Post by Frazmataz »

yes, you can... at a price of £125.00. Without motors, gears or paints. At £68.00, the London Rd J21 is much more cost effective, escpecially if the conversion process turns out to be pretty simple.
rob
GCR D11 4-4-0 'Improved Director'

Post by rob »