Redcar Central

This forum is for the discussion of railway modelling of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

Norman Coyne
GER J70 0-6-0T Tram

Redcar Central

Post by Norman Coyne »

Hi I'm new to modelling so could I get some help please? I want to model the station from the Road bridge by the cricket ground to the footbridge at the junction of Birdsall Row & the Avenue. Where would I find any information on distances & track layout circa 1955.? Thanks in advance.
Seagull
GER D14 4-4-0 'Claud Hamilton'
Location: Between a cheap railway station and a ploughed field

Re: Redcar Central

Post by Seagull »

Hello Norman

If you go to this link:- http://maps.nls.uk/view/100941365 you will find the 6inch map for 1938 published in 1947.

I doubt the layout changed between 1938 & 1955. You can print out from the web page, but the quality is (purposely?) not that good.
You cannot easily scale from the image which is another problem. You can order the map online and they are not expensive, though I'm not sure what the postage to Canada would be.

The main search page is here:- http://maps.nls.uk/geo/find/#zoom=13&la ... FTFFFFFFFT

Alan
Playing trains, but trying to get serious
jwealleans
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Post by jwealleans »

You may also find this site useful.

The NERA will also be able to help you.
DS239
LNER N2 0-6-2T

Post by DS239 »

Hello Norman,

There is an OS 1:2500 map dated 1954-55 on the http://www.old-maps.co.uk website,type Redcar into the search box,centre the pointer on the station area and select the map you want to view from the selection on the right,you can zoom in a bit,but you'll have to order the map for a really detailed view.

That website is a really useful research tool,and the 1:2500 maps are good enough to show track plans in detail,so you can easily spend a lot of time researching all those long lost areas of the railway system... :wink:
mr B