LNER Quint Articulated Suburban Coach Sets in OO Gauge

This forum is for the discussion of railway modelling of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

Palace Gates
GER J70 0-6-0T Tram

LNER Quint Articulated Suburban Coach Sets in OO Gauge

Post by Palace Gates »

As a complete novice, I’m looking for co-conspirator(s) for a potential 3-D printing project. I recently purchased Isinglass's excellent drawings but OO Gauge representations of the above coaching stock are limited to Bill Bedford’s Mousa side etchings only kits (requiring modelling skills well beyond those possessed by ordinary mortals), or the outdated Kirk plastic kits long out of production due to worn moulds. The Kirk kits crop up on eBay occasionally fetching IMO obscene amounts of money (suggesting a potential untapped commercial opportunity). Neither of the above includes any interior detail. Advice, support & input of expertise on how I might progress this project would be very welcome. RSVP.
Kirk Quint Art 1.jpg
jwealleans
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Re: LNER Quint Articulated Suburban Coach Sets in OO Gauge

Post by jwealleans »

I'm afraid, if you're looking to 3D print sides, that you're still ahead of the technology. All the printed carriage and wagon bodies and sides I've seen have far too much texture from the printing process to be acceptable as finished items, unless you're prepared to sacrifice much of the detail in smoothing the surface.

I'm not sure about Bill's sides being 'beyond ordinary mortals', although I've not built that particular set from him.

Have you tried contacting the current owner of the Kirk kits to see what he has in stock? Have you also looked at whether sides for the longer carriages can be cut and shut to make a Quint?