DCC locos

This forum is for the discussion of railway modelling of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

burnie
GNSR D40 4-4-0

DCC locos

Post by burnie »

I am new back to the model scene and am I tad confused , simple question, I am not digital I have a gaugemaster model D control unit, can I use a loco with DCC fitted, or will it not work on what I guess is just an analogue power supply?
Atlantic 3279
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Re: DCC locos

Post by Atlantic 3279 »

I think the answer is that a lot of DCC fitted locos will run on proper electricity, but you may have to turn up the juice to an annoying level to wake up the little digital nuisance inside the loco. Some may only run in one direction on a normal power supply. The good news is that even if a blanking plug for the DCC socket in the loco is not available, two pieces of bent wire in the correct 4 holes will bridge the contacts and allow the loco to run normally with the chip removed. You may have a more awkward situation if the chip has been DIY fitted, hard wired in, to a "not DCC friendly" loco.
Most subjects, models and techniques covered in this thread are now listed in various categories on page1

Dec. 2018: Almost all images that disappeared from my own thread following loss of free remote hosting are now restored.
Nova
GER D14 4-4-0 'Claud Hamilton'

Post by Nova »

burnie wrote: Sun May 07, 2017 3:25 pm I am new back to the model scene and am I tad confused , simple question, I am not digital I have a gaugemaster model D control unit, can I use a loco with DCC fitted, or will it not work on what I guess is just an analogue power supply?