Subways

This forum is for the discussion of railway modelling of the LNER and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard, Tom F

Post Reply
Graeme Leary
GCR O4 2-8-0 'ROD'
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:43 pm

Subways

Post by Graeme Leary » Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:01 am

When were subways (ie from platform to platform, not the Underground) first introduced and made their appearance on LNER stations (which I'm assuming they did) and in LNER days did they also go outside to the public footpaths.to save passengers crossing the track/s?
The Snapper

exile
LNER J94 0-6-0ST Austerity
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:58 pm
Location: France

Re: Subways

Post by exile » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:33 pm

I don't think there will be a precise date. The crossing from one side of the tracks to the other by means other than walking across the tracks themselves will have been judged on a case by case basis. In some cases footbridges will have been deemed appropriate in others (and especially but not exclusively if the line/station is on an embankment) a subway would be seen as a better option.

As train speeds increased, the dangers of having passengers and staff crossing at track level increased - and especially at stations where high speed trains did not stop. Based on what I have read elsewhere regarding other companies, subways started to be introduced from the 1870s onwards (with some even earlier). Decisions would be based on the numbers of passengers needing to cross the line and the frequency of potentially lethal through services.

giner
LNER A3 4-6-2
Posts: 1362
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Alberta - ex. Stevenage

Re: Subways

Post by giner » Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:28 pm

Off the top of my head, stations that had passenger tunnels rather than overbridges in my old stomping grounds were: Hitchin, Knebworth, Hatfield(?), Potters Bar, New Barnet. Probably others south of those, too. Sorry, can't help on any vintages though.

User avatar
StevieG
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Near the GN main line in N.Herts.

Re: Subways

Post by StevieG » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:25 am

Also subway(s) at Finsbury Park, but never seen or heard of one at either New Barnet (my local station for many years) or Hatfield, giner.
But a GNR photo(s?) exists of Hitchin with a footbridge, presumably of a pre-subway time there.
BZOH

/
\ \ \ //\ \
/// \ \ \ \

Mickey
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:49 am

Re: Subways

Post by Mickey » Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:01 am

Also Baldock station on the GN section of the Hitchin-Cambridge branch and Stroud Green station on the GN Finsbury Park-Highgate branch.
Last edited by Mickey on Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

giner
LNER A3 4-6-2
Posts: 1362
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Alberta - ex. Stevenage

Re: Subways

Post by giner » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:24 am

Cheers, Stevie. You'd think I'd have known about Finsbury Park - all those mis-spent Saturdays down the Arsenal:). I was a bit fuzzy about New Barnet. The old grey cells must be disappearing more quickly than I thought.:)

Mickey: Yes, Baldock, of course.

User avatar
StevieG
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Near the GN main line in N.Herts.

Re: Subways

Post by StevieG » Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:07 am

Thanks Mickey: - Of course! Baldock and Stroud Green both at a considerable height above ground level.
On the GE (which I do not generally know as well), while doing some rail project work relating to Cambridge station, ten years ago, there were very strong rumours that there had once been one there, in early days, to an island platform, when the Newmarket line curved sharply away eastwards from the main station: This being before the replacement deviation line was built (completed 1896), from Coldham Lane Junction to join the original in the Brookfields area.
No confirming evidence of a subway was found (a proper search survey for it wasn't needed for our work anyway) but neither could it be ruled out as it would have been so long ago that subsequent alterations could have left no trace.

Lastly, never seen a photo of Bethnal Green (another high one) with a footbridge, so possibly there's always been a subway there.
BZOH

/
\ \ \ //\ \
/// \ \ \ \

User avatar
StevieG
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Near the GN main line in N.Herts.

Re: Subways

Post by StevieG » Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:49 am

Re Cambridge, now found a HUGE amount of info on the www.disused-stations.org.uk website, where it states that there was, at one time, at least one island platform, for increase of capacity reasons rather than just for the Newmarket line.
A footbridge to it is mentioned, but also a low, narrow, luggage subway which was prone to flooding, and suggesting that by 1863 this arrangement was already being superseded.
BZOH

/
\ \ \ //\ \
/// \ \ \ \

User avatar
52D
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'
Posts: 3968
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Reallocated now between the Lickey and GWR
Contact:

Re: Subways

Post by 52D » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:36 pm

Warkworth and Tweedmouth for sure in Northumberland although Morpeth might also have one.
Hi interested in the area served by 52D. also researching colliery wagonways from same area.

john coffin
LNER Thompson B1 4-6-0 'Antelope'
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:24 am

Re: Subways

Post by john coffin » Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:14 am

there is of course the subway at Grantham, and it certainly seems to have been there a long time. I would guess certainly since they quadrupled the line, but since it was part of the route to the shed, maybe sooner.

Paul

Graeme Leary
GCR O4 2-8-0 'ROD'
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:43 pm

Re: Subways

Post by Graeme Leary » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:39 pm

Thanks all for your comments. I certainly get some thorough (and factual) responses to these naff queries of mine and never ceases to amaze me the depth of knowledge you all have.
Graeme
New Zealand

Trestrol
GER D14 4-4-0 'Claud Hamilton'
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:48 pm
Location: Earsdon Grange signal box

Re: Subways

Post by Trestrol » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:18 am

York has a subway as well.

BlythStationLad
LNER Thompson L1 2-6-4T
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 6:17 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: Subways

Post by BlythStationLad » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:01 am

Newsham, a junction station on the Blyth and Tyne Railway, had a subway from at least NER days. It still exists but was infilled on demolition of the platforms in the early 1970s.

Graeme Leary
GCR O4 2-8-0 'ROD'
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:43 pm

Re: Subways

Post by Graeme Leary » Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am

THanks again all. From your comments now happy my subway looks prototypical for what I'm trying to achieve.
Graeme

Post Reply