Site Migration and Downtime: 27th, 28th, 29th January

This is for official forum announcements only.

Moderator: richard

richard
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Site Migration and Downtime: 27th, 28th, 29th January

Post by richard »

I've been hinting for a few months that there's going to be a big site migration. This is now scheduled for 6:30pm EST Friday 27th January. This will move all my sites to a virtual server, and I shall also be taking the opportunity to move the forums to Pair's "Software Manager" (SIM). I've been using the SIM for two Wordpress installations, and it has proven to be a lot easier to maintain.

This is the approximate timescale for what will happen (times are US Central, add about 6 hours for UK times):
  • Tuesday - Thursday: I shall be backing up my various sites, including the static section of the LNER site. I will not be doing any more forum adjustments or page additions during this time period. Also I have some pending additions (more ship information; list of 3mm kits) and these have also been suspended until next week.
  • Friday starting in the morning: The forums will be suspended. A full backup of the database will occur. I will also be doing the same for the Wordpress (business) sites that I have.
  • Friday 5:30pm CST: Pair perform the migration. for about 5-10minutes during this period, my email will not be reachable and will be queued.
  • Friday night: I start to get everything back up and running. Priority is for email, web forms, and business static pages. These are then followed by business ordering pages; and Wordpress sites.
  • Saturday: Hopefully the business side will be running Friday evening, and I'll move to the LNER forums during Saturday morning. These will be more involved due to the SIM migration. Also, the forums might appear online for short intervals for testing. DO NOT POST until I post a message saying it is safe to do so. Any posts during this testing period may be lost.