WWII Whittlesford to London Line

This forum is for the discussion of the LNER, its constituent companies, and their histories.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

mikefranzak
NER Y7 0-4-0T

WWII Whittlesford to London Line

Post by mikefranzak »

Hi,
I am a novice in the USA doing research on British passenger trains during WWII. I am specifically interested in the train that ran through Whittlesford to London (likely Liverpool Street Station) during WWII. I found information on LMS that ran from Cambridge to London via Bedford and London, but I do not think LMS serviced Whittlesford. I am specifically looking for information of trains through Whittlesford to London.

Does anyone have any information on a LNER line that ran through Whittlesford to London during WWII?

Thanks,
Mike
Hatfield Shed
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Re: WWII Whittlesford to London Line

Post by Hatfield Shed »

Whittlesford would have had a regular passenger service terminating at the London end at Liverpool Street, as you have realised. Likely to have been a slow train, probably a couple of hours stopping at many if not all stations between Cambridge and Liverpool Street. Anyone in a hurry may have left Whittlesford going North to Cambridge, to pick up one of two faster - somewhat over an hour - services available on the LNER; Cambridge - Liverpool Street non stop, or Cambridge via Hitchin onto the line into Kings Cross. The eventual destination in London may have informed the choice. Likewise the LMS alternative from Cambridge via Bedford, which might have suited a passenger heading into the North Western districts of London rather than more central areas.

Quite how any of these services operated during the war - almost certainly slower by general reputation - is a whole other question.
thesignalman
GCR D11 4-4-0 'Improved Director'

Post by thesignalman »