North Eastern Railways Staff Lists

This forum is for the discussion of LNER personalities, and for use by people researching their ancestors.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

nick b
GER J70 0-6-0T Tram

North Eastern Railways Staff Lists

Post by nick b »

Hello Everyone,

A quick note to intoduce myself first. My name is Nick Buckley and I am a Driver for Eurotunnel driving ET Shuttle trains and Class 92 Freight.

My Great Grandfather, Joe Dunham, was a Railwayman all His life, and it is only since the release of the 1911 Census I have found the actuall Company He worked for. N B Railways based in Hull. I have watched His career grow from the 1881 Census starting as a cleaner throught the ranks to Engineer but no actual mention of the company until now. On researching the NBR I belive it became LNER in Circa 1942. Was this also part of the Hull & Barnsley?

Any help on Staff listings/records Etc. would be much appreciated.

Nick
Last edited by nick b on Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
52D
LNER A4 4-6-2 'Streak'

Re: NBR Staff Lists

Post by 52D »

I would guess that its a type error and should read H&BR instead of NBR.
Hi interested in the area served by 52D. also researching colliery wagonways from same area.
nick b
GER J70 0-6-0T Tram

Post by nick b »

The handwriting on the 1911 Census is difficult to read but it could be H&BR. It says: 'h' or 'n' B Rly Coy. It would make more sense to be the H & BR as NBR was mainly based in Scotland wasn't it? My great Grandfather lived in Hull. Although did NBR take over H & BR in 1905? Later to become LNER.
Bill Bedford
LNER A3 4-6-2

Post by Bill Bedford »