Manors Railway Station, Newcastle

This forum is for the discussion of all railway subjects that do not include the LNER, and its constituent companies.

Moderators: 52D, Tom F, Rlangham, Atlantic 3279, Blink Bonny, Saint Johnstoun, richard

elbongodelfetish
NER Y7 0-4-0T

Manors Railway Station, Newcastle

Post by elbongodelfetish »

Hi, name's Adam, 19y.o. from Newcastle, and ever since I was little have had a stange fascination for Manors Railway Station, in Newcastle. I'm not sure what it is that interests me about it, but it probably has something to do with the fact that it was once this big station, lots of buildings, many platforms - and it has almost completely vanished from the urban landscape. I'm a history student furthermore, and am interested in what the station used to look like, and what it was like to use it.

Now the most obvious way to get a sense of how the station used to be is to look at old photographs of the station, from its contstruction and even beyond its closure in the late 70s, when it lay mostly derelict and empty. Very spooky. But having scoured the net for pictures, I just couldn't seem to find very many. Which is when i stumbled upon this site - in a forum called 'guess the station', someone posted two photos of Manors Station from around the 1970s, which I'd never seen before. What I would ask all of you now is, do you have any pictures of Manors Station, and would you be so kind as to either post them on here, or provide some sort of link to a site, or email them to me??? Your co-operation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Adam
Bullhead
LNER Thompson B1 4-6-0 'Antelope'

Post by Bullhead »

There are 2 pages of pictures Manors at http://www.subbrit.org.uk/sb-sites/stations/ - follow the link to "list of closed railway stations", which will give you an extensive alphabetical list.

Here are a few I took in the late 1970s.

So - did anyone dare tell Stephenson, "It's not Rocket science"?
elbongodelfetish
NER Y7 0-4-0T